Electronic Design
WHF Announces Wireless Hall Of Fame Class Of 2011

WHF Announces Wireless Hall Of Fame Class Of 2011

The Wireless History Foundation (WHF) has announced the names of four accomplished individuals who will be inducted into the Wireless Hall of Fame during the Foundation’s dinner in San Diego on October 10. 

Nick Kauser is a former chief technology officer of four major wireless carriers including Rogers Cantel, McCaw Cellular Communications, AT&T Wireless Services, and Clearwire Corp., which he also co-founded (see the figure). He built the first nationwide networks across both Canada and the United States. And, he led U.S. standards processes, aggressively explored new technologies, and laid the basis for nationwide automatic roaming.

Robert Marino is a former president and the first employee of United TeleSpectrum (now Sprint). He also is a former president of cellular companies including Compania de Radiocomunicaciones Moviles (Buenos Aires, Argentina), Houston Cellular Telephone Company (now part of AT&T Mobility), and the Northeast Region of Nextel Communications (now Sprint). He moved from the carrier side to industry services as group president of the Convergys Information Management Group and chairman of the board of Syniverse.

Clayton Niles is a radio telecommunications pioneer and former chairman of Communications Industries (acquired by Pacific Telesis Group). He began his wireless career in 1948 and played a critical role in securing interconnection for the radio common carrier (RCC) industry and in convincing the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to open cellular applications to RCCs as well as telephone companies.

The late Arnold Pohs was a chairman of the board and CEO of CommNet Cellular Inc. (acquired by AirTouch) and a chairman of the board of CTIA – The Wireless Association and the CTIA Wireless Foundation. He was a strong advocate for rural wireless, building a network of rural systems at a time when others doubted their value. Also, he was a respected industry leader and a strong advocate before the FCC and Congress on industry issues. He passed away in April 2011.

“These are outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions in all aspects of wireless development, and we are honored to induct them into the Wireless Hall of Fame,” said Wireless Hall of Fame member and Qualcomm founder Irwin Jacobs, who is chairman of the 2011 Wireless Hall of Fame dinner. 

The Wireless Hall of Fame program recognizes outstanding achievement across all disciplines of the wireless industry. Twenty-eight individuals have been inducted into the Wireless Hall of Fame through 2010. The 2011 selection committee was chaired by Charlie Townsend, president of Aloha Partners, and comprised an anonymous panel of Hall of Fame members.

The dinner will take place at the U.S. Grant Hotel in San Diego on Oct. 10, the evening before the CTIA Enterprise and Applications 2011 tradeshow. For additional information, or to participate as a sponsor of the 2011 Wireless Hall of Fame Dinner, contact Liz Maxfield at [email protected].

Wireless History Foundation

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.