SEMI announces re-election of board members

July 13, 2018

San Francisco, CA. In conjunction with SEMICON West this week, SEMI announced the re-election of 10 current members to the SEMI international board of directors in accordance with the association’s by-laws. The 10 board members were re-elected for two-year terms:

  • Martin Anstice, CEO, Lam Research;
  • Kevin Crofton, president, SPTS Technologies, and corporate vice president, Orbotech;
  • Jon D. Kemp, vice president, DuPont;
  • Mitsunobu Koshiba, president and representative director, JSR Corp.;
  • Yong Han Lee, chairman, Wonik;
  • Sue Lin, vice chairman, Hermes Epitek;
  • Tadahiro Suhara, president, SCREEN Semiconductor Solutions Co. Ltd.;
  • Tetsuo Tsuneishi, executive chairman of the board and representative director, TEL;
  • Tien Wu, management director and chief operating officer, ASE Group; and
  • Guoming Zhang, senior vice president and chief strategy officer, NAURA Technology Group Co. Ltd.

The SEMI executive committee confirmed Tetsuo Tsuneishi, chairman of the board of TEL, as chairman of the SEMI executive committee. SEMI also confirmed Bertrand Loy, president and CEO of Entegris, as vice chairman. The leadership appointments and the elected board members’ tenure become effective at the annual SEMI membership meeting on July 11 during SEMICON West 2018 in San Francisco, California.

“The SEMI board of directors is comprised of global business leaders who represent SEMI members and the industry, ensuring that SEMI develops and delivers member value in all regions,” said SEMI president and CEO Ajit Manocha. “We congratulate the re-elected members and greatly appreciate all of our board members’ contributions to the industry.”

SEMI’s 19 voting directors and 11 emeritus directors represent companies from Europe, China, Japan, Korea, North America, and Taiwan, reflecting the global scope of the association’s activities. SEMI directors are elected by the general membership as voting members of the board and can serve a total of five 2-year terms.

Also at SEMICON West, SEMI honored two industry leaders for their accomplishments in developing standards for the electronics and related industries. The Technical Editor Award recognizes the efforts of a member to ensure the technical excellence of a committee’s standards. This year’s recipient is Sean Larsen of Lam Research. Larsen has led the North America EHS Committee and multiple EHS task forces for over a decade. His knowledge of the regulations, procedure manual, and style manual, combined with his experience in the industry, ensures that complex safety matters are explained in a clear, consistent manner, and ballot authors frequently rely on him for his technical skills in preparing ballots. In addition to co-chairing the North America EHS Committee, Larsen is currently the co-leader of the SEMI S22 (Electrical Design) Revision TF, the SEMI S2 Non-Ionizing Radiation TF, the SEMI S2 Korean High Pressure Gas Safety TF, and the Control of Hazardous Energy TF.

The Corporate Device Member Award recognizes the participation of the user community and is presented to individuals from device manufacturers. This year’s recipient is Don Hadder of Intel. Hadder has been actively involved in the standards program for several years and currently leads the Chemical Analytical Methods Task Force and chairs the North America Liquid Chemicals Committee. He has successfully re-energized the committee, which is now focused on enabling continued process-control improvements for advanced nodes. He recently drove the development of a critical new standard: SEMI C96, Test Method for Determining Density of Chemical Mechanical Polish Slurries, the first document in a series of SEMI Standards that will be devoted specifically to CMP slurry users, IDMs, slurry suppliers, metrology manufacturers, and OEM equipment suppliers. Hadder has worked at Intel for 23 years, where his experience and system ownership has been in diffusion, wet etch, planar-cmp, ultra-pure water, waste treatment systems, abatement and vacuum systems, bulk and specialty gas, bulk chemical delivery and planar chemical delivery.


To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Electronic Design, create an account today!